CSC swap: Bold and Beautiful book

SEWING-SWAP1277Before Christmas I agreed to take part in the Curvy Sewing Collective holiday swap. I was partnered with the loverly Sharon. I sent her a copy of Simplicity 1277 and some pearl effect buttons from my stash. This is one of my favourite pattern releases from the last year – I haven’t had chance to make it yet, but is clear it will be flattering to anyone and as with so many of the ‘amazing fit’ patterns comes with average and curvy and different cup size pattern pieces – hopefully enough fit variation to avoid having to adjust the pattern pieces – something Sharon is not a fan of.

bold-and-beautifulIn return Sharon sent me the book ‘Bold and Beautiful’ by Habibe Acikgoz. I have never tried to make patterns from a book, so will be a new and interesting challenge for me. I would not immediately have picked out patterns in this lagenlook style, and some are definitely not for me – but others are interesting, including a skirt and jacket that will be added to my pattern queue. I don’t think I would ever wear a complete lagenlook outfit, but I could see individual pieces coordinated with more fitted pieces working well in my wardrobe.

This skirt is interesting, although for once this may be too much pocket! I think if I make this I will do a more discreet pocket to avoid overcomplicated styling.

This skirt is interesting, although for once this may be too much pocket for me! I think if I make this I will do a more discreet pocket to avoid overly fussy styling.

I really like the interesting design details on this jacket, I think it could work well for Spring through Autumn (the Scottish 'summer' lasts for 2 weeks, if we are lucky).

I really like the interesting design details on this jacket, I think it could work well for Spring through Autumn (the Scottish ‘summer’ lasts for 2 weeks, if we are lucky, so it is not really a necessary season for wardrobe planning).

From my initial survey the book is well presented. I like the fact that most of the patterns are sewn up in plain linens which allows the details to show well – the big 4 could take some lessons from this, however I would like some line drawings too. I have found two interesting and informative forum threads on this book and their conclusions echo my own immediate judgements – the ‘easy’ part of these patterns seems to be the fit, as the garments are loose fitting with just a couple of size bands. The instructions look too brief and so many of the garments have lots of pattern pieces that I don’t think the construction could be described as beginner friendly – but they don’t look advanced either. I will report back when I have tried sewing one of the patterns.

This entry was posted in Planning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CSC swap: Bold and Beautiful book

  1. Pingback: Spring/Summer 2015 sewing plans | An original by Ellie

Leave a Reply

