Aubergine v -neck Renfrew

IMG_1336Next in my current line of fast (and probably unintersting) knit tops is another Sewaholic Renfrew. This time I did the v-neck version with a full length sleeve. The fabric I used was this rich dark aubergine viscose from the clothshop, which is a great fabric for the price, but tends to gather hairs, threads etc, so I wouldn’t recommend it for a pet owner. The colour doesn’t show well in photos, but it is a beautiful deep purple – like aubergine skins, as described.

As I have made this top before there is only a limited amount to say about the construction. My cowl neck version was a bit baggy in places, so I graded down to a size smaller for the wrist end of the sleeves. For the cowl neck version I did I did a 2cm no dart FBA and then another 3cm using a standard Y adjustment, rotating the dart around into the neckline. This seemed to provide slightly too large FBA for a knit fabric, so this time I only applied the 2cm no dart FBA. I kept the forward thrust shoulder and broad shoulder adjustment I did for the cowl neck version.

IMG_1339During construction I found the sleeve was about an inch too long so I had to trim that off before adding the sleeve band – next time I could remove this much from the pattern piece. After wearing I am happy with the smaller FBA and sleeve size. With this version of the top I have a bit of an issue with the back riding up – I think I need to broaden the back piece at the hips slightly to prevent this. It is not so bad to make the top unwearable, but it is annoying. I also have a preference for longer tops, and I think I could happily make this top an inch longer for wearing with jeans.

IMG_1260IMG_1327Other than these small fit issues this top was easy to whip up in one afternoon, and I like the v-neck version – the band came out well and this is another good basic top. Not so exciting, but excellent wardrobe building.

This entry was posted in completed projects, FBA's, patten alterations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

