Flamingo yoga mat

IMG_1349Just a quickie project today. My pilates class has recently moved location and I now need to take my mat with me. This made me realise I could do with a proper bag so I could carry it comfortably. A quick google lead me to Caroline’s tutorial on this, which I decided to follow. The fabric I used  is a light summer cotton with a pale peach background and fun flamingos on it – one of the nice new summer fabrics appearing in my local shop at the moment. A quick measure suggested Caroline’s sizing was pretty good for my mat, so I cut out the body, end and drawstring cord pieces as described. I decided I don’t need a pocket, and I wanted to do something different for the strap so I didn’t use those pieces.

The bottom of the strap with plastic rectangle for the strap to feed through sewn into the circular base seam.

The bottom of the strap with plastic rectangle for the strap to feed through sewn into the circular base seam.

Sometimes I will want the bag over a shoulder, sometimes over my body, so I wanted an adjustable strap. I used 1 1/2″ wide twill tape in this fabulous-flamingo-matching burgundy (I needed about 1 1/2 metres in total), a plastic rectangle and a three bar plastic slider to create the strap. I sewed a 7cm piece of the tape folded around the rectangle into the bottom circular seam. I then sewed the end of the long piece of tape around the middle of the three bar slider. I fed the free end of the long piece of tape through the rectangle sewed into the bottom seam of the bag, and over the top of the middle of the three bar slider. Finally, I sewed down the end of the long piece of tape at the top of the  bag.

The three-bar slider.

The three-bar slider. The end of the strap is sewn to the middle bar. The main strap piece feeds through the slider,  across the top of the middle bar and sewn loop.

IMG_1357

the other end of the strap sewn to the top of the bag.

Tada!!! I am very pleased with this – it is stylish, fun, and functional, and using Caroline’s instructions gave me a nice finish (it’s always nice when others do the thinking for you) – I really liked the tie at the top which is a nice detail. I have used it for one class so far, and it was ridiculously comfortable.

IMG_1366

This entry was posted in completed projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

